April 1, 2014

Standard

Tuesday.  Two days post Zydeco Marathon.  The race.  26.2 miles.  I’m very glad I did it.  I think if I do that one again, given the warm time of year, I will change my expectations.  I was hoping to finish in around 4 hours.  I finished in like 4:17, I think.  Certainly not stellar for me, especially since there was virtually no elevation gain.  Baton Rouge has over 1,400 feet of elevation and I finish marathons there in a lot less time.  Pity party over.  I started.  I finished.  I won, as far as I’m concerned.  I’m soooooorrrrrre.  Like, really sore.  I went from walking like a slow robot on Monday to a transformer today.  I’m not sure what is next.  I’m out of the New York Marathon.  My husband has a trial/trial prep that is happening at exactly the same time, so there goes my chance for that race this year.  As he said, if that’s the worse thing that happens to me, I’m doing alright.  The only problem is, I was/am disappointed because I have thrown my hat into that ring for 3 solid years, with a ‘no’ each time and this year is the last year that I would be able to be granted entry with the sort of “3 strikes & you’re IN” rule.  That rule is over after this year.  I could still raise money for it next year and run it.  I’ll see. 

I feel like I’m at the beginning of something.  I’m not sure what.  I want to do something physically – change up my workouts, challenge myself in different ways…I also want to clean out this house & get rid of all that is no longer useful and give it to someone who can use it!

I’m taking this week off to let my muscles recuperate.  I enjoyed some time on my porch this evening, planting a few things and trying to re-vitalize what’s happening out there since the big freezey!!!!

Lent – and the Padre Pio Novena are in full swing.  Home school is going quite well.  My sweet son will be in during Easter break.  I can’t wait to see him and spend some time with him!  He is doing a beautiful job transitioning from kid-to-man.  That is not an easy transition under the best of circumstances.  He is wonderful and inspiring.  He can make me laugh when I least expect it!  I told him tonight, he needs to write some of what he says down.  He’s a riot and doesn’t even realize it :)

Okay, so peace out, I’m gonna go look at my plants! :)

5 responses »

  1. I’m so glad to see that you’re back. I was wondering about you and now that I see you just ran a marathon….totally understand. You’ve been training. Glad to see everything is good on your end. Get your much needed rest. And enjoy your son during Easter. My little grandchildren will be here with us for spring break. Can’t wait!

    • Hey, Laurie!!! Thanks for the kind words…yes, I was training…I must say, it took a bit of the wind out of my sails running three marathons six weeks apart. I’m happy I am here!!! Everything is all good, thank-You-Jesus! Oh, I know y’all are gonna enjoy having those preceious children with y’all for Spring Break! I am counting down the days till my son gets home! Thanks for checking in!

  2. Congratulations on running that marathon! That’s amazing! I have never done one .You are so inspiring ! The longest I have run was a half marathon. Running a marathon is on my list for sure! Enjoy your day!

    • Thanks, Melissa! The course was FLAT! I was feeling a little flat myself during it, but I won’t dwell on that. I started & finished & that’s enough for me. You seem like you have great stamina. If you can train for & run a half-marathon, all the while being the busy wife & mother that you are, I know you can do a full. For me, it was turning 40 that sparked my interest in running a full. The very idea of turning “40” and not having some spectacular, life-affirming way of celebrating it made me a little crazy. I was already running and had done a couple of half’s, so when I saw that the Houston Marathon was happening ON my 40th birthday, well, that was just too perfect! I’m thankful that I did it because that wonderful run – complete with my family and one of my sisters & 2 nieces – catapulted me into fitness at a whole new level – my self-esteem got a great boost – it was just a great feeling of accomplishment…okay, I could go on & on as you can see, :))) 5th Sunday of Lent is right THERE! Talk to you soon!!!

      • Thanks for sharing! I am 38 soon to be 39 in May , so yeah, that is a great way to celebrate 40! Maybe I can use that idea also…FIRST MARATHON AT 40…What a way to celebrate! WOW, from reading the comment you posted to another reader, I had no idea that you ran 3 marathons 6 weeks apart! IMPRESSIVE! Thank you for being so inspiring and Encouraging! You are a blessing! and a friend(even though we haven’t met)! Have a blessed evening and enjoy the rest of this Lent season as we approach the celebration of our RISEN Savior!

Leave a Reply

