tri-ing…

Standard

so much going on.  school?  still not resolved.  i know we are in the homestretch.  i am praying a Novena to the Holy Spirit for guidance toward God’s Will.  can’t go wrong there.  nothin’ but good.  son turned 19.  he had quite a birthday.  i love that kid.  i think he understands better as he grows up into a man how much i really love him.  i drove over and saw him for his birthday.  then, we had a great weekend here pretty soon following.

as i type, my refrigerator is dying a slow, expensive, painful death.  it’s a big built in thing.  we are going to look for a new one tomorrow.  my step-son is graduating!  i can’t believe it even as i type it.  time really does fly.  i was going through pictures and just can’t get over how quickly they grow up.  and all three big kids are growing up so well.  they are beautiful and considerate young adults.

hamburger steaks/gravy, tater tots, corn & something green for dinner.  my best dinners have always been inspired by t.v. dinners and school lunches.  true.  when i was a kid, after my dad died, we didn’t have a lot of money.  okay.  ANY.  we didn’t have ANY money.  every once in awhile, my mom would “splurge” and buy us t.v. dinners.  mine was always the salisbury steak with fries.  my brother always got the night hawk hamburger steak/gravy, tots & corn.  i envied him.  night hawk was expensive, so my mom got it just for my brother.  but look how it affected me!!!  i re-create it whenever i want, using good, pure ingredients!!!  i can’t wait to eat dinner tonight!

my workouts – if you look at my workout log(s), it looks like i’m doing so much. but…hubs has committed to 15-20 minutes of something heart-elevating in the neighborhood workout room.  so i go with him. it’s fun – pick a machine for 15-20, get after it – i like to get the most out of every workout – so if it’s a treadmill, i either run really fast, or incline it to 15.  the elliptical?  level 20 for the most part.  i can get stinking sweaty in no time flat.  but it taxes a running girl’s legs.  so, today i did the elliptical, then jumped on my bike for an hour. my legs are gloriously heavy.  and happy.  this evening, after the homework  subsides, i will get in the pool with my daughter for :30.  so, i’m doing a quick, hard workout first thing, something of medium endurance for about an hour after, and then another :30 in the evening.  i guess that adds up.  it just doesn’t seem like it does because i’m used to 90 minutes a couple of times a week in one shot.  but i like this, i must say.  change is good.  plus, i’ve been focusing on swimming because that is my weakest area.  i signed up for a mini-tri in june.  just to get those transitions in, really.  my plan is to do an ironman one day.  i know i can do it, i just have to develop the endurance.  a marathon is about 4 hours.  a full ironman will take about 9…yeah.  so, that’s a great goal!  gotta start somewhere.  i realized that even the great endurance athletes started at ground zero.  i know that whatever time i can devote, even during a crazy couple of weeks like these have been, are good for me, in so many ways, and will help me achieve that goal.

gotta go do a little dinner prep work for tonight & then BACK to the store – hubs sweetly invited 3 guys to have sandwiches with him at lunch.  no prob, but now i am out of bread, cheese and turkey.

peace out…

One response »

  1. Wow! You’re not busy, are you? ;) I am looking forward to someday being able to work-out for more than 30 minutes! Right now, that’s about the limit with our girls. Once they’re both in school I should have a little bit more time (but I’m trying really hard not to wish THIS time away!).

    If you feel like stopping by my blog, I’m having a rough week (with so much mommy guilt I can hardly stand myself). I could use a voice of reason.

Leave a Reply

